Got some cash to donate? Here’s a good cause: Mrs. Ratliff’s students need books

There’s 15 days left to help some kids get some books they desperately need. Mrs. Ratliff’s book project at Baca-dlo’ay Azhi Cmty School in Prewitt, NM. The message from Mrs. Ratliff:

My Students: I am requesting books that will encourage my students to develop that life-long love of reading. These materials will help me meet the needs of my students at various reading levels.

My students live on the Navajo reservation in rural New Mexico. My students attend a K-6 Bureau of Indian Education School. My students love books! I am trying my hardest to develop a love of reading in all of them. Many students have not and do not have many books at home or get read to. Having materials in school is the best way to ensure that they can read at home.

My Project: I am asking for books to enrich our core reading program. The books are at multiple levels so that I can better meet the needs of my students. Included are 420 books (70 titles with 6 copies of each). The books will allow me to meet with small groups and encourage academic conversations where my students can better prepare for college and the workforce.

It is important to provide my students with the materials that allow me to better meet the Common Core State Standards so I can better prepare them for the future by being literate including reading, writing, and speaking.

What they need: $2750 to buy Guided Reading Fiction Focus Grade 5 from Scholastic.

Where to donate: http://www.donorschoose.org/project/reading-books-books-and-more-books/995479/.

One thought on “Got some cash to donate? Here’s a good cause: Mrs. Ratliff’s students need books

Leave a Reply

